meant friendship or something else?
June 9, 2013 5:53 PM   Subscribe

opinion please!

Thank you to so many of you for helping me with my last question :)

I had another awkward encounter with an older man............... and would like to know what you think he meant if you don't mind commenting. I'm a female college student in my 20's.

This time it's a male acquaintance in his 50's or above who works at a supermarket nearby. He's always friendly and helpful when I shop there.

Him: "Hi. I thought you went home for the summer."
Me: "Hi. I don't know what I'm gonna do yet."
Him: "Do you still ride your bike?"
Me: "Yea, it's my only way of getting around, haha."
Him: "Your friends don't give you a ride?"
Me: "They would, but bike is easier."
Him: "I don't mind taking you to places. Just call me."
Me: "Thank you, that's very nice of you."
Him: "Yea, maybe then we can grab lunch or something. Does that sound good?"
Me: "Um yea! (I thought "lunch??!" but didn't know what else to say!!)
Him: "Do you want my number?"
Me: "Umm I can just call this store and ask for you."
Him: "Ok. Can I call you?"
Me: "My phone is currently broken. (This is true.)"
Him: "Oh ok. Looking forward to hearing from you. :) "

Do you think he probably meant just being friends, being nice, etc. or something else? Thanks! :D
posted by MiuMiu to Human Relations (51 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

He's asking you out on a date. Not a big mystery. If you don't want to date him, say no, thank you.
posted by ClaudiaCenter at 5:58 PM on June 9, 2013 [20 favorites]

No, he is asking you out.
posted by Sebmojo at 5:58 PM on June 9, 2013

He is being nice, but he probably doesn't want to be just your friend. Don't call him.
posted by ThePinkSuperhero at 5:58 PM on June 9, 2013 [1 favorite]