Where can I read up on suits for heavy men?
June 8, 2013 12:39 PM   Subscribe

I'm in China and I can get any suit custom made. That's great because I'm tall and heavy. That's also daunting because I have to show up with pictures of what I want. I find it tough to find good links to websites with tips for people like me. What modern suit would look good on me?
posted by krautland to Clothing, Beauty, & Fashion (9 answers total)

I have no knowledge of a man's version of this book, but "David Kibbe's Metamorphosis" did wonders for my ability as a not petite woman to dress well and be psychologically comfortable in my clothes. I learned that shawl collars and a couple of other styles looked wonderfully elegant on me, even though normal/standard lapel jackets are terribly unflattering to me, so much so that I used to loathe suits/jackets.

I was able to mentally translate the info to tips for my husband and help him dress better. So although it is a book aimed at women only, perhaps doing the exercises and identifying your "type" would be useful for you.

And hopefully you will get like 500 other, better answers after this one.

Best of luck.
posted by Michele in California at 1:19 PM on June 8, 2013 [1 favorite]

To get ideas and convey them to tailors, perhaps you can google celebrities with a similar body type to find movie stills and photos of them walking the red carpet, making talk show appearances, etc. IMDB nearly always includes photos from the premiers as well as from the films themselves. John Goodman, for example, is 6'2" and has been photographed at a range of weights, one of which might correspond to you.
posted by carmicha at 1:28 PM on June 8, 2013 [1 favorite]

Catalogues, GQ or pictures on the Internet work well. Trust your tailor to fit you well. My mom was spoiled in Korea with bespoke clothing. Have fun! Get a pink dinner jacket
posted by Ruthless Bunny at 6:31 PM on June 8, 2013

Best answer: "... What modern suit would look good on me?"