Finding an over-the-phone "tutor" for ASP.NET
June 6, 2013 12:05 AM   Subscribe

Does anyone have any suggestions about finding an over-the-phone "tutor" for ASP.NET -- someone whom I can bug throughout the day with simple 5 minute questions e.g. "what's the best way to update multiple tables on insert from an ASPxGridView?".

I've taken on an ASP.NET project that's a little bit out of my league. Whereas the project itself is rather simple, I'm finding that ramping myself up is taking too long due to small little "5 minute" problems that take me hours to solve simply as I'm still a noob.

I'm investigating https://clarity.fm. At the moment this looks like the front-runner and will try to schedule a call tomorrow to see if they fit my needs.

Another option would be to find someone through https://www.taskrabbit.com/, but I don't think they're set up quite right for me: they're all about discrete tasks -- I estimate that I'd need to ask about 5-10 questions a day with the average call time to be about 5 minutes.

My background is in Java and iOS development. I have about 4 weeks experience in ASP.NET development.

If anyone has any suggestions, I'd love to hear!
posted by tomargue to Computers & Internet (8 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Are you familiar with stackoverflow.com ?
posted by bottlebrushtree at 12:39 AM on June 6, 2013 [1 favorite]

Yup. Stackoverflow rocks :)

Tho there's a bunch of things that over the phone offers that text / Stackoverflow doesn't, e.g. Synchronous answers, subjective impressions, screen sharing etc
posted by tomargue at 1:02 AM on June 6, 2013

keen.com is a website that introduces you to x dollars per minute people over the phone. I think a lot of it is sex and psychics, but there are a great deal of techie type people on there as well. Just doing a quick search there are many people that claim to know about ASP.NET.
posted by ill3 at 1:52 AM on June 6, 2013