So, I handled a needle I found at a park and forgot to wash my hands...
May 30, 2013 11:25 PM   Subscribe

So I was in a park in SF and spotted a busted needle in the path. I dunno if it had been used but the plastic part was broken as if it had been stepped on a few times and ground into the dirt. I didn't want anyone or any puppy to step on this exposed needle so, with minimal skin contact, I took the thing over to the waste bin. I wiped my hand on my pants and continued on my walk for about an hour. I then headed home and ate something and may have licked my fingers, right before remembering about the needle. Cutting to the chase: Do I have Hep?
posted by cman to Health & Fitness (20 answers total)

I'm not a doctor or scientist, but it seems if you touched the plastic syringe rather than the needle, and you didn't puncture your skin and you don't have any open wounds, and the thing had been sitting in the dirt for a fair amount of time and was dry, and you wiped your hands, it wouldn't be highly likely that you contracted any diseases. Of course it could happen, but it just doesn't sound highly likely. That was very good of you to be concerned about your fellow citizens and their pets by the way.
posted by Dansaman at 11:32 PM on May 30, 2013

Highly unlikely*. The only way I could see is if both the part you touched was crawling with hepatitis AND you had a significant cut on your finger as well.

*IANAD, IANAS
posted by zardoz at 11:44 PM on May 30, 2013 [1 favorite]

AIUI (and reinforced with some googling; IANAD) this falls squarely in the "probably technically possible to contract hepatitis this way, but really not likely" category.
posted by hattifattener at 12:08 AM on May 31, 2013 [5 favorites]

A simple blood test will answer your question definitively.
posted by three blind mice at 12:47 AM on May 31, 2013 [2 favorites]