Did Handel really say this?
May 26, 2013 4:08 AM   Subscribe

After Georg Friedrich Händel became George Frideric Handel in 1727, I have it stuck in my mind that he once said, to a Brit who called him a German, "No, Sir, I am more English than you, because I chose to become English, whereas you were assigned your nationality willy-nilly," or words to that effect. But no amount of googling has found a reliable quote or reference to this. Has anyone else heard this story, or did my mind make it up? Anyone have a reliable source?

I'm interested because, having taken Italian citizenship, I'm still often "accused" of being a Brit, which I also still am, when I criticise anything Italian. It is of course very convenient to be able to have my cake and eat it.
posted by aqsakal to Grab Bag (7 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Best answer: I studied music for quite a while and have never heard it.

I like it too, though, having chosen French citizenship and often being "accused" of being American - I get what you mean.

A bit of Googling attributes "I am more English than you are because I chose it" to Joseph Conrad, though the sources aren't immensely convincing:
- Telegraph article on something else, but with that quote
- Book Club Classics PDF on 'Heart of Darkness'
posted by fraula at 4:25 AM on May 26, 2013

Best answer: I don’t know about Handel, but Emeric Pressburger is supposed to have said ‘I am more English than you, for as you may have been born English I chose to be English’ and Joseph Conrad, similarly, ‘I am more British than you are. You are only British because you could not help it.’
posted by misteraitch at 4:26 AM on May 26, 2013 [2 favorites]

Best answer: I've heard this phrase before. The point is, it's a quip of moderate depth and will have occurred to many people. I've found one example here.