How do I prioritize my credit card and private/public student loan debt?
May 3, 2013 2:11 PM   Subscribe

I need some help prioritizing the repayment of my debt, which consists of 0% APR credit card debt and a mix of private and government student loans.

I know - you are not a financial adviser, you are not my financial adviser, this is not specific financial advice.

However, I would like some thoughts on my situation. I graduated from college in 2011 with a bachelors degree and make less than $50k/year. I currently have:

-About $8k in credit card debt on two cards, both at 0% APR
-About $60k in Stafford loan debt at 6.25% APR, currently on income-based repayment plan
-About $40k in private student loan debt, multiple loans averaging 4.5% APR, currently in repayment

At present I am paying:

-The minimum payment on the credit cards, which all goes to principal
-Nothing on the Stafford loans, since my income for previous years was so low that my required payment on the IBR plan was $0
-Somewhat more than minimum on the smallest of my remaining private student loans, and the minimum on the others

Additional info:

-I can likely continue to move the credit card debt around to other 0% cards when the time comes, though the fee for doing so is generally between 1-3% of the balance (no-fee balance transfers have become rare)
-I now work full-time and will likely have to begin paying on my Stafford loans next year, but I cannot afford the standard repayment plans and I am unlikely to ever get these loans paid off
-Under the IBR, the remaining balance on the Stafford loans is forgiven after 25 years, though there are tax considerations

I'm operating under the assumption that the Stafford loans are essentially a lost cause, so at this point my main concern is whether to focus more on the credit cards or the private student loans. And with the credit cards at 0%, it makes sense to me to put whatever extra amount I can toward the private loans.