How do I focus on my work?
May 1, 2013 10:54 PM   Subscribe

I have been trying to focus on my work...Usually I'll work for 15 minutes, and would have the urge to surf the Net, check forums, read up on TvTropes...

I'm a programmer by trade, and the project I am on is not actually my interest. However, I notice this is starting to be a habit for work that I used to enjoy too. How can I maintain my focus and attention on what I am doing?
posted by crowbar_of_irony to Health & Fitness (17 answers total) 90 users marked this as a favorite

Best answer: Look up the Pomodoro technique, which directly addresses this urge to focus and then wander and focus again...
posted by Cool Papa Bell at 10:56 PM on May 1, 2013 [3 favorites]

Listen to binaural beats that tweek your brain to help you focus.

Get Relax Melodies app, set the binaurel tone to "focus," put on headphones, listen and let the app do the work.

100% effective, no effort other than getting in the habit of using it. Done.

Bonus?

After enough use, you'll stop needing it to focus. If you slip into bad habits and need it again, just start using again.

Google "binaural beats" to understand how the science behind it.
posted by jbenben at 11:47 PM on May 1, 2013 [14 favorites]

I have been using http://www.focusatwill.com - it's a music productivity service that has preprogrammed radio stations playlisting tracks that help you focus.

I recommend the classical station. It's low key and doesn't distract me from tasks.

It's based around 110 minute cycles. So I work solidly for 110 minutes until the counter reaches zero and the music stops. Then I have a short break and start all over again.

Other solutions people use include software to lock them off particular sites for certain periods of time.
posted by skylar at 12:21 AM on May 2, 2013 [4 favorites]

I found that setting up two or three little Buddha machines with different loops on the Zendesk Buddha Wall was surprisingly immersive.