How do I learn to master failure with grace?
April 24, 2013 10:12 AM   Subscribe

What resources, whether they're books, websites, or other media address how to stop letting success and failure affect me so much? In other words, how can I start accepting failure as an inevitability?

For a very long time I have been letting my success and failures define my happiness. It's very draining keeping my self-confidence and contentment wrapped up in external events, and I'm tired of it. To top it off, I don't think I ever really learned how to deal with rejection and failure in a healthy way. I tend to internalize failure, and it only makes things worse. I don't want to try again. I shut myself down from constructive criticism.

As an aside, I've been practicing mindfulness meditation for the past two years. While this is helpful in recognizing when these thoughts are intruding, it's not exactly a fix in stopping them. I still get down when an outcome does not arrive as expected, even though I am aware that outcomes won't always arrive as expected.
posted by helios410 to Human Relations (15 answers total) 25 users marked this as a favorite

Have you encountered the different phrasings of "fail early, fail often" that seemed to be everywhere in the past couple of years? Here's one longer-form piece, but there are a number of essays and articles on the topic that might be helpful to you--the gist being that failure and rebounding are essential to success. Interesting stuff.
posted by Admiral Haddock at 10:19 AM on April 24, 2013 [3 favorites]

I collect quotes like the following:

Your most unhappy customers are your greatest source of learning. -- Bill Gates

I have not failed. I've just learned 10,000 ways that won't work. -- Thomas Edison