Great text-to-video, fast, cheap, dummy-ready?
April 23, 2013 9:10 PM   Subscribe

I want to make YouTube videos of 2-3 minute text. The popular kinetic typography stuff and whiteboard stuff is eye-catching. But I have little video editing experience and suck at drawing. What is something simple I could use?

This needs to be something I do myself, preferably computer-only (not camera). No outsourcing. I simply want to take short articles that I write, record the audio (which I can do easily already), and translate that to short, text-eye-candy videos that keep people's attention for 2-3 minutes. Topic: political/civic current events material. Need fairly quick turnaround (one hour, tops). Is there an online or software solution that "wizards" this together? I use a MacBook Pro.

Some quick examples for reference ...

Kinetic typography: http://youtu.be/J7E-aoXLZGY

Whiteboard animation: http://youtu.be/NugRZGDbPFU

Simpler, stylized, scrolling text narration: http://youtu.be/-9huWlXFA1s

Anything interesting that I haven't seen that might fit the bill?

[Bonus Points for free or freeware solutions.]
posted by skypieces to Computers & Internet (9 answers total) 16 users marked this as a favorite

Prezi, perhaps?
posted by oceano at 9:18 PM on April 23, 2013 [2 favorites]

Cheap, fast, easy -- choose any two. Adobe After Effects is the tool of choice for kinetic typography videos. It's not cheap, it has a steep learning curve, and even after you master it, I doubt you could turn 2-3 minutes of animation on the level of the example you linked in less than an hour.

If you want free, you could do a lot of similar things in Blender, although it's not really intended for that use. it's actually a 3d package, but I've done simple kinetic type before. Expect more of a learning cliff, and a similar problem in that even if you scale the cliff, you're still not going to be able to do that in an hour.