I can go anywhere and do anything, what do I do?
April 2, 2013 9:17 PM   Subscribe

Should I join the Coast Guard? No really, I suddenly find myself with no ties to anywhere or anyone in life. I have no lease. I have a boatload of medical debt, and about $100k in law school loans. I am currently in SF, but willing to change that. What should my next move be?

So, I recently broke up with my boyfriend of many years. I am on medical leave from my job, but my doctors have told me that in their opinion, I should never go back. I'm pretty close to all the way mentally and physically healthy though, and working hard on getting back in the awesome shape I was in before the medical issues. Skills include basic tech start-up stuff (not programming, but doing the "everything else in the company" part. Also, I'm a licensed attorney, but not in CA, and I'd prefer to be the only lawyer in my life for a while. I can do everything from writing a contract (or a poem) to managing an international team of tech support workers.

A lawyer friend in a similar situation became an Army medic and loves it (just finished first tour in Afghanistan). I am willing to consider extreme life-change suggestions like that.

So, what should I do next?
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (14 answers total) 8 users marked this as a favorite

Go teach English overseas. S. Korea is a haven for first timers, but there are lots of opportunities in other countries if you're willing to do a bit of training. Also, not sure about your age or location, but you may be eligible for working holiday visas in places like Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Italy...

Other ideas: become a tree planter or wildfire firefighter. Or at least try a new city.

I don't know about your debt situation, but if you can have your debt set up on a manageable payment plan then you can do any of these things. Good luck.
posted by hamandcheese at 9:27 PM on April 2, 2013 [2 favorites]