Stupid phobia
March 31, 2013 3:22 PM   Subscribe

I have an embarassing phobia which I'd like to get rid of.

This question is terribly timed, but it's unfortunately real.

When I'm swimming in a pool, my head fills with thoughts about encountering a shark or occasionally an alligator. It's so bad when I swim alone that I get out of the pool. If someone else is in the pool I'm pretty much okay, the more people the better. In fact I'm completely fine when others are swimming with me, whether they know me or not.

If I close my eyes for the part of the stroke that is under the water things are better. I am never worried about the shark being in an area I can see, it's always behind me or to the side where I can't see.

I know that this makes no sense. I have an engineering brain and there is no way the animal could get into the pool, and checking beforehand doesn't help either. It's an irrational phobia that needs to be dealt with.

So therapy would probably be good. Before I do this, I'd like to try a bit more on my own. So AskMeFi: what do you suggest?
posted by anonymous to Human Relations (19 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

Can you pinpoint any childhood memory that might have set this up?

Can you go somewhere and swim with actual sharks?
posted by cmoj at 3:24 PM on March 31, 2013

I would suggest swimming with other people around as much as possible and look into hypnosis.
posted by heyjude at 3:34 PM on March 31, 2013

EMDR.
posted by These Birds of a Feather at 3:45 PM on March 31, 2013