Cute dessert idea for med school graduation
March 29, 2013 3:43 PM   Subscribe

The majority of my friends are in medical school and are graduating this year. I'm a baker and wanted to give them all small gifts that are cute/tasty/medical or graduation-related. The only thing I could think of is decorated cookies (I do shortbread or brownie cookies) but any suggestions on shapes? Nothing too complicated, please!

I can also skip cookies and do something else entirely that might be more relevant, I have gift boxes for pretty much anything.
I specialize in French macarons so if anyone has a cute macaron related idea, I'd be interested in that as well!
Thank you :)
posted by picarosado to Food & Drink (12 answers total)

Have you considered hard baking cooked pancake batter put in the shape of medical equipment to scale? Here is what I mean. My thinking is to make the batter sweeter than normal or decorate it like a cookie. then present it in a long box or a doctor's bag if you have one lying around.
posted by parmanparman at 3:46 PM on March 29, 2013

Do you know whether they know what they're going to specialize in? You could make it appropriate to that- bacteria for a pathologist, organs for a surgeon, etc.
posted by Jpfed at 3:47 PM on March 29, 2013

@Jpfed, It's a mix including psychiatry, optho, internal med, and emergency med!
posted by picarosado at 3:53 PM on March 29, 2013

I once saw the most beautiful sugar cookie in the shape of a human heart, decorated realistically with red and pink frosting.
posted by Sara C. at 3:54 PM on March 29, 2013 [2 favorites]

Does the med school have interesting school colors? You could do French macarons in those colors.
posted by dayintoday at 3:58 PM on March 29, 2013

The rod of Asclepius! (As opposed to the caduceus. This gets complicated.)