Disclose health status?
March 28, 2013 6:28 PM   Subscribe

Should I disclose my illness?

I'm a junior tenure track professor. I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease this year. Lots of fatigue, foggy spells, etc.
I also just got the worst teaching evals of my career. This is being escalated to the Dean level.
I attribute some if not most of this to the fatigue. I'm barely making it through some classes when I'm in a spell.

I don't want to disclose my illness because I think they'll hold it against me - not formally but subconsciously. And I don't want to use it as an excuse.
Also my disease is one of those for which there is little treatment and it will probably get worse as time goes on. Since it isn't going away, disclosing might send a message that this is how I always am.

Am I being ridiculous not disclosing?
posted by anonymous to Human Relations (28 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Little bit, yeah.

You admit that you think your disease is affecting your career -- that's not an excuse, it's a reason. This is the point of the ADA and similar legislation. Tell your Dean (or whomever you answer to) and ask to work with your school's disabilities office to sort something out. The people in your department will probably be greatly relieved that they don't have to fire you for sucking at your job and fall all over themselves to help you.
posted by Etrigan at 6:41 PM on March 28, 2013 [21 favorites]

Escalated to the dean level sounds really serious. I'm sure others in academics can weigh in better, but my first thought is, if you are in danger of getting fired, then you have little to lose by disclosing the illness. If they are unlikely to fire you and first will try to work out some sort of plan for improvement with you, then you could wait until later to see whether disclosure is needed.
posted by treehorn+bunny at 6:42 PM on March 28, 2013 [2 favorites]