Seeking opinions on columnar apple trees
March 16, 2013 4:56 PM   Subscribe

Has anybody planted em? Ate em? I'm eyeing the well-established Scarlet Sentinel/Golden Sentinel vs new Urban Columnar Series. I will pay more up front if that gets me tastier apples. Thanks.
posted by HaveYouTriedRebooting to Home & Garden (3 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I planted a "Scarlet Sentinel" and a "North Pole" in spring 2010, at either end of the 6-foot wide strip of flower-bed between my house and the sidewalk. Summer 2011 I got a few blooms but no fruit set; summer 2012 I got fruit on both (about 8 apples each, between squash-ball and almost-tennis-ball size). Both varieties were good tasty eating apples, a bit on the tart side, not as sweet as a grocery store apple but still pleasant straight up. I thought they'd be delicious cooked, but ate them before I got that far. I'll know more in another 7 months...

Pruning them has me a bit perplexed - I'm not an expert in this "tree" thing, but I read a couple of articles and I'm trying my best. What confused me was that I bought them as bare-root, planted a straight stick ~ 3 feet long .75" diameter, with a little pyramid-shaped tip. What grew that first year was 4 shoots/branches out of that tip; the trunk didn't grow "up" at all, just split out those branches. My best guess was to cut off all but one of them, and that branch became the new trunk. It seems to have worked okay, but during the winter I'm kind of embarrassed to look at them - fortunately the trees don't look too deformed when they have leaves.

So, as a non-expert, I have successfully grown these guys, and they were definitely edible, and I was very pleased with myself. I can't begin to say that the fruit was optimally pruned, thinned, ripened, watered, cared for, etc, which might have almost as much effect on its deliciousness as the choice of cultivar. But hey, it was petty darn good. Feel free to memail me if you can't find an actual expert.