Thanks for all your hard work, please go away now.
March 12, 2013 3:35 PM   Subscribe

How do you gracefully tell vendors they weren’t selected for the project? What do you say when they want to know why...and you don't have an easy answer?

I am tasked with helping to coordinate a remodeling project for my business. We are required by our headquarters to get three competitive bids for each major category (furniture, contractor, etc.) We’ve made our selections and my manager told me to start calling everyone tomorrow and tell them they had/had not been selected.

OK, sure, but…what do I say? I have never done this before. I’m also not good at conflict or being assertive, especially over the phone. I know some of these people will want to know “why didn’t you pick us?” and “who are you going with? Why did you pick them?”

The thing is, for a few of these we don’t have a solid reason why we selected one over another. The prices were similar and it honestly just came down to who we liked better on a personal level. I don’t have an easy answer like “well, their price was more in line with our budget," but to flat out tell them "we just got along with the other guys better," seems too harsh and also trivial.

I am worried I’m going to be pressured into a competitive sales pitch with someone trying to poke holes in my excuses and talk me out of the decision. I have a tendency to Be Polite At All Costs and that may be a problem here.
posted by castlebravo to Human Relations (26 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

You're not really obligated to give concrete reasons, right? So don't.

"Company B was a better fit for our needs right now. Thank you for taking the time to present options to us. We'll think of you the next time we need services like yours."
posted by These Birds of a Feather at 3:37 PM on March 12, 2013 [10 favorites]