What are the "beginner pianist" cliche songs and melodies?
February 15, 2013 9:43 AM   Subscribe

I'm looking to compile a list of those piano songs that "everybody" learns because they are simple, memorable, or good skill builders. Any genre is acceptable.

I am a decent guitarist and singer and I would like to learn piano.

Right now my biggest obstacle is that I obviously don't want to learn badly enough that I am willing to work very hard at it. I understand how to play chords and can bang out the chords of songs I know on guitar, but I feel pretty wooden in that I'm not able to get my hands moving to play melodies or bass lines. My sheet music reading ability is pretty basic - again, I know it's something that I will have to work at, but I'm hoping this "shortcut" will give me faster success to help motivate my playing.

What I am looking for is a list of all of the beginner piano cliches - the songs that sound difficult or complex but aren't, the easy songs that every beginner pianist can play the first dozen bars of, the old pop chestnuts that everybody knows and are easy to play. My theory at the moment is that I will be able to learn these parts as building blocks for my eventual piano mastery. Ultimate goal is to be decent enough to play for friends and family in casual settings.

So, lets hear it piano teachers and music store employees. What is the "Smoke on the Water" of the piano? What song do you wish you never had to hear again?

(I promise I will use this knowledge for good, not evil)
posted by davey_darling to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (21 answers total) 31 users marked this as a favorite

Scott Joplin's The Entertainer
Fur Elise
posted by Sleddog_Afterburn at 9:45 AM on February 15, 2013 [5 favorites]

Hot Crossed Buns
The Entertainer
The Muppet Show Theme