An Aquarium without Electricity
February 4, 2013 10:37 AM   Subscribe

I love fish. I don't like buying electric components and spending the money on electricity to maintain a fish tank. I am also slightly paranoid about mixing water with electricity. So I'd like advice/stories/speculation on setting up an aesthetically pleasing aquarium without using electricity at all. Realistically, I'll be living in an apartment, and looking for a 0.5 to 12 gallon aquarium, but I'm interested in stories of aquariums elsewhere and/or in other situations.

Experience: I have some experience keeping fish, from a beta fish in a 1/4 gallon tank to 50 gallon setups of angelfish and goldfish (in separate aquariums, of course!). I have kept a ghost knife fish, which I really liked, but it did not survive my one week long vacation. I've kept salt water shrimps, but no salt water fish. (It was my attempt at a nano tank.) So assume that I know the basics of cycling, schooling fish, community fish, etc, but not the more advanced stuff.

Location: Like I said, an apartment. With two cats. The apartment should never get below 55 degrees, but I don't want to promise more than that. There is a south facing window.

Budget: Let's say up to $300 for the entire setup? (Including fish.) I have nothing right now.

Things I've briefly looked into: I'm okay with getting a beta fish again, though I would want the beta fish to be healthy. Something like the NoClean Aquariums satisfies my sensibilities. or maybe something like this and then I can grow basil or something.

If there were no constraints, I would try to either keep another ghost knife fish, try to breed discus fish, or try to keep puffer fish. But I don't want to spend that much time taking care of the aquarium. I prefer a planted tank.
posted by ethidda to Pets & Animals (8 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite