Need advice on archiving my CD/DVD collection.
January 29, 2013 9:34 AM   Subscribe

Here's what I want to do. 1. put cd/dvd in drive of computer 2. rip it 3. software places files in folder structure I define 4. spits out cd/dvd and does it all over again. Ultimately what I'd like to do is create a digital library of all my music and movies in one central place so my smart tv/computers/tablets/phones have access to the media whenever and wherever. Please flood me with suggestions. I'm a noob at this.
posted by Mantix to Computers & Internet (9 answers total) 20 users marked this as a favorite

Is there a reason you're opposed to using iTunes, at least for the music CDs?
posted by Sara C. at 9:42 AM on January 29, 2013 [2 favorites]

Windows only:

I just did this. Many people will give you advice, nearly all will tell you to use Exact Audio Copy -- which I also advise. Go ahead and download it now while you're waiting for more info. Read this guide for advice on configuring. I recommend FLAC for a save format.

Then you can use Foobar 2000 for batch converting all those files. It works great for this, and also for playing music.

Could you use iTunes? Yes, but it's not as good for converting large batches of stuff, and it's a bit clumsier to manage all the recording files. Foobar 2000 makes it easy to do a large conversion of medium-quality MP3's into one location, and another conversion of high-quality AACs (or MP3s) into another location, and so forth.
posted by amtho at 9:51 AM on January 29, 2013

On a Mac, you can use an app like XLD for audio CDs, which gives you similar control over file format and folder structure the way the aforementioned Exact Audio Copy would on a PC. It's free.