Want career advice for IT in the SF/Bay Area
January 26, 2013 5:32 PM   Subscribe

In the medium term it looks like I may have the opportunity to do part time on-the-job retraining. I'd like some recommendations on what technologies to focus on if I want to plan for or at least be open to moving from a job where I work remotely for an office in Maryland to an in-office job at a company in the SF/Bay Area. More snowflakey details inside.

I have 17 years' experience in IT, in systems engineering, operations, administration, process, automation, design, implementation, management, troubleshooting and architecture, focusing on Microsoft SharePoint 2003, 2007 and 2010 since 2002. Before 2002, I did misc other jobs including software, security, network design, lower technical management, project management, integration and integration architecture, consulting, etc.

During recent social visits with local friends in the Bay Area (where I now live), I've gotten the serious cold shoulder from friends' friends and coworkers when I mention Microsoft. I think this is a shame - I am capable of and interested in doing stuff other than Microsoft stuff, but I tend to focus on what it is my employer wants me to do or focus on, and for the past 10 years or so that's been Microsoft operating systems, servers and application servers.

And it's not that I'm a fire and forget sort of systems engineer. Given my druthers (which I am not always given) I implement Microsoft servers like any good server. When I'm done with set-up the logs are as clean as possible and I can maintain them by remote monitoring and only the occasional intervention. And I don't see a server reboot as the first option or any option when something new starts acting funny. In other words, I have standards, and I like to keep it that way.