How come I never feel successful?
August 15, 2005 1:07 PM   Subscribe

How come I never feel successful, only jealous?

I am a writer/filmmaker in my late 30s. I have a creative job in the entertainment industry that is by no means extraordinary, yet many undoubtedly would love to have it. My real interest is writing and making movies and producing plays on the side. I have been fairly productive over the last five years, producing a few small plays and some short films. I have received some good reviews and been shown at a few film festivals. Yet, I feel like I'm going nowhere. There's been no life-altering recognition.

I have a number of colleagues who have had far more success. You might recognize their names. Lately, I seem to be obsessed with the attention they have received. I look at their websites, read their raves, and engage in other destructive behaviors. I know this is unhealthy and that I should focus on my own work but I can't seem to help it. I have begun to doubt my own abilities.

I know there are lots of more important issues than my ego, but with that in mind, how come I can never feel successful?
posted by captainscared to Human Relations (23 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

One thing you might want to keep in mind: no matter what level of success you attain, you'll still feel that jealousy, you'll still feel like you haven't attained that life-altering level of success. You'll always find people who are--or seem to be--doing better than you.
It may not be about success, necessarily, but other factors that are making you unhappy.
posted by Jeanne at 1:15 PM on August 15, 2005

My personal mantra is that the moment when I feel completely satisfied with my life, that's about when I should kill myself.
posted by thanotopsis at 1:17 PM on August 15, 2005