Canon 5d video n00b
August 16, 2012 6:48 PM   Subscribe

Canon 5D filter: I'm going on a trip to Honduras with a NGO in November to photograph their work developing clean cookstoves for families. I'm cool on the photography front, but need help figuring out a relatively lightweight rig for video using my 5d mk ii.

I'm just getting into the video side of things and know there's a TON to learn. There's also a ton of advice on the best video setup ever, much of it conflicting. I'm not looking for the best video rig ever though, more like: the bare bones essentials that won't make me fall over from the weight of carrying it around while speaking with people who may very well not have seen a giant camera rig.

Equipment I have:
- 5d mk ii
- 50mm f1.4 lens
- 24-105 f4 lens
- Zoom h4n audio recorder
- Super heavy hand-me-down tripod not suited for travel

I suspect that I need:
- Some sort of stabilizing contraption, tripod, monopod, steadicam? (Redrock is mostly out of the budget, but I'm willing to think on it)
- A way to attach my zoom to the camera? hot shoe? or a different audio recorder entirely?
- LCD magnifier? Are these must haves, or just pretty nifty when you can afford them?
- follow focus?
- ???

I'd like to keep expenses low if possible–I'm already volunteering my time and paying my way in country–but I think video will be super important for the org (they've only asked for photos, everything else is bonus) so I'm willing to look at more expensive options if necessary.
posted by nerdcore to Media & Arts (8 answers total) 8 users marked this as a favorite

Have you seen this $14 DIY steadicam? I can't vouch for it firsthand, since haven't actually made it yet, but it looks promising for the money.
posted by umbú at 7:41 PM on August 16, 2012

Best answer: Welcome to my world. I do commercial video work, and often use each of these items you've listed.

Let me go through your initial list: