Trade reference etiquette
July 5, 2012 11:15 AM   Subscribe

A question about the etiquette of supplying trade references on wholesale credit application forms.

I'm starting a very small, very part-time online store. Most vendors are asking for several trade references on their wholesale application forms. Is it acceptable for me to simply list some other vendors with whom I've done business, or do I need to ask the other vendors in advance whether I can use them as a reference, like I would on a job application?

I know this is kind of a trivial question but I am having a difficult time finding the answer, and I've never done any wholesale purchasing before.
posted by enn to Work & Money (6 answers total)

Best answer: My friend who started a food store says that there's no need to ask the other vendors in advance, that it's just an expected part of having done business with someone before.
posted by bubukaba at 11:29 AM on July 5, 2012

Best answer: I have experienced this situation from the other perspective, since I work in the finance department of a managed services company. Several times we've been contacted by vendors because it turns out our customers used us as a credit reference without telling us. Amusingly enough, sometimes these are customers who have missed some invoices. When this happens, we are completely honest about it - what else can we do? Lie to protect the reputation of a customer who isn't good about paying us?

I would suggest contacting your vendors first - partially as a courtesy to them, but mostly to make sure you haven't accidentally misplaced any invoices that are still unpaid. If you have, it could really come back to bite you later.
posted by wolfdreams01 at 11:33 AM on July 5, 2012

Response by poster: Thanks, both of these answers are really helpful.
posted by enn at 1:13 PM on July 5, 2012