Use the outsource, Luke?
July 20, 2005 11:36 AM   Subscribe

Should I use an online outsourcing service?

I have a number of programming tasks that I want to accomplish, but I want to get them done within months rather than years. I've heard of sites like RentACoder and ELance, but I'm hesitant to use them.

Has anyone here used such a site? What was your experience like? What would you have done differently? FWIW, I'd be supplying the coders low-level (almost pseudocode) design documentation and a series of unit tests to confirm valid functionality.

I'm a pretty compentant developer and I could write all the code myself, but I want to focus on the one or two areas where my project will differentiate itself and farm out the rest. I'd be looking for Flash, ActionScript and database stored procedure skills (doesn't have to be from the same developer).
posted by lowlife to Technology (6 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

In short, no. There's a variety of reasons, but the questionability of being able to work back to a person if the code has problems is the primary one for me.

I'd find a small, local developer if I were you... someone who's incorporated and maybe has two or three employees. They're usually as reasonable as the eLance people, and you'll have a MUCH better working relationship and warranty.
posted by SpecialK at 12:03 PM on July 20, 2005

I wouldn't hesitate to do so. Most of those programmers are just as good if not better than the ones here, and cheaper. I hired a foreign guy after he got his master's degree in computer science here in the States. He lived here for three years and I paid him $55,000 per year.

He recently decided to move back to his home country. I hire him to do work on an hourly basis for $20 an hour. It works out better for both of us.

If you don't mind communicating over instant messaging, and working sometimes odd hours (we're almost 12 hours apart) I'd highly recommend it.