RSI vacation of stircraziness
March 22, 2012 2:37 PM   Subscribe

How to fill my time on medical leave for RSI issues? And how to cope with not being able to live as normal?

I work in marketing, and through to the heavy computer use my job requires, developed pain in my lower arms.

I saw my doctor. I'm seeing a physical therapist ASAP (next week due to hmo bs), but until I get professional input and advice about how to move forward, I'm taking time off work, and abstaining from computer/iphone use, and, basically, anything that hurts. (I'm not sure whether or not pen on paper writing is safe for me to do.)

And its making me crazy.

Normally if I had a few days home from work, I'd be coding, writing, or sewing (or playing video games), but in this situation, too much hand/arm use is required for those activities. I'm supposed to be healing!

I'm at a loss... I know I can read and go for long walks, but both things lead to thinking, and thinking leads to writing. Without the ability to type, i feel like I've lost the ability to speak and give feedback on the world.

Am I best off going brain-numb for a few days and trying to zen out?

(slowly typed via left-hand hunt-and peck)
posted by itesser to Health & Fitness (8 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

Get some voice recognition software (Dragon Naturally Speaking being the gold standard) and start doing voice-to-text to write. Get a super ergonomic mouse so you don't hurt it mousing. Read a lot.
posted by brainmouse at 2:43 PM on March 22, 2012

Oh, I hear you. I was put on a typing hiatus for several weeks and it killed me!

Watching movies saved my brain. Or, rather, watching movies and Mystery Science Theater 3000.

Voice recognition software is an excellent idea, because if you do have RSI you're going to need it in future. Naturally Speaking is the best of a bad lot.
posted by Sidhedevil at 2:54 PM on March 22, 2012