how do normal people enter the freeway?
March 21, 2012 11:58 AM   Subscribe

Can anyone please explain to me how to enter the highway without mentally writing my last will and testament? It terrifies me and I feel I endanger other people, too.

OK so I have been driving for 3 years. I have done several long trips and always thought I would get better at it, but no. I have tiny panic attacks whenever I have to enter the highway. I have watched videos on Youtube, asked my husband for advice and I just don't get it. I mean they tell you to accelerate before entering, right? and that you MUST choose a spot before and fall neatly into it. But this is too damn hard for me!

I never break or even go too slow (I think), but there's always a little commotion when I try to do it, because i don't know how to fall into place.

I also freak out when other people are trying to get in and I'm on the right lane. I slow down and start driving like I WANT to have an accident.

I need a full explanation for dummies on how these things are supposed to work.
posted by Tarumba to Travel & Transportation (33 answers total) 22 users marked this as a favorite

Honestly, you sound to me like the majority of drivers!

Technically, the people on the on-ramp should be able to reach highway speed and merge perfectly, but practically this is rarely possible. I try to pick a spot basically right behind a car, so that the next car coming up has time to slow down and I have time to speed up before there is a 'commotion'. But really, unless there is no-one on the freeway, entering cars are going to cause other cars to shift around. It's just physics.

Another thought - are you perhaps going faster than the other cars when you try to merge? I can see how that would cause a problem as well.