So, what gives? I thought nursing was a growth field
February 21, 2012 6:44 PM   Subscribe

I'd always thought I'd be a nurse, and I finished all but the final pre-req before I veered off to work in insurance for a while. My question is, is there really a nursing bubble going on right now, and how is it affecting new grads and more experienced nurses? If there's no bubble, what are some of the reasons my more experienced RN friends are having problems finding work? Thank you
posted by Issithe to Work & Money (13 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Anecdatum: What I've heard from a couple of folks in the field is that some areas of nursing (I'm looking at you, obstetrics) are really massively oversubscribed, whereas there's more likely to be work in end of life care and geriatrics or something else far less fun.
posted by rmd1023 at 6:52 PM on February 21, 2012 [1 favorite]

I'm a nurse (graduated a year ago, gainfully employed) and I don't see any bubble. Certainly some areas are much more difficult to get a job in, like labor and delivery, but in general there seem to be jobs available.

I will say that it is very difficult to get into nursing schools right now, because the schools can't match the salary of a clinical position when trying to hire RNs to be teachers. Not enough teachers means they can't expand their roster of students, so many schools are turning away highly qualified applicants.
posted by vytae at 7:08 PM on February 21, 2012

The economy is down just about everywhere and most people are looking for stable, middle-class jobs. Since the U.S. doesn't really manufacture anything anymore, that means service industry and/or healthcare. Service industry jobs usually don't pay anything approaching normal middle-class existence until you've gotten a decade under your belt so that leaves healthcare.