Best path to becoming a web app guru
February 17, 2012 3:55 AM   Subscribe

What's the best way to learning web-app development after working through Learn Python the Hard Way (or any other introductory Python book for noobs)?

I first learnt programming (in C) as a high school student. As an undergrad, I continued to dabble in C and MATLAB. That's now about 5 years in the past. Wanting to get back to hacking personal projects, I set about learning some basic HTML and CSS a couple of weeks ago. Then, I worked through most of Learn Python the Hard Way, along with solving the occasional challenge on Project Euler using Python.

Now, I want to learn to develop simple web-apps. I began by working through an apparently simple Flask tutorial, but frankly, I am a little overwhelmed. I'm beginning to wonder if I am doing this the right away, as I have absolutely no knowledge of databases or networking.

I also think I am something of a sequential learner, where I build on some basics that I first master. The entire teach-yourself-coding paradigm that works on first building simple running apps (or working on large existing open source projects) seems to go against this (in my limited experience so far ), because there are so many moving parts to any application and it's not easy to have a grip on all of them right from the start. Plus, I tend to get frustrated if I see something in the code I don't understand.

So I guess what I am looking for are:
- recommended paths for learning app development
- personal learning experiences
posted by rahulrg to Computers & Internet (7 answers total) 21 users marked this as a favorite

Web.py sounds like what you're looking for - you can get things running fairly quickly with little code.
posted by GenericUser at 4:17 AM on February 17, 2012