Lots of hugging, lots of dancing, etc etc
February 14, 2012 1:27 PM   Subscribe

Many mainstream US sitcoms often seem to have a very sentimental moment five/ten minutes before the end. This is rarely the case in UK sitcoms and as a UK viewer seems very much an American thing. When did this become a convention and why?

I noticed this when I was little in the 80s/ 90s and watching US imports - The Fresh Prince of Bel Air (which was on every single teatime when I was a kid), The Cosby Show, Roseanne, Blossom, Kate and Allie, A Different World and tons more. No matter how acerbic, no matter how unsentimental the events, there'd always be a bit of weeping, hugging or learning before the end. (I'm aware Seinfeld deliberately set out to avoid this, but it was shown very late at night, if at all, on UK TV and even now is more of a cult programme than a mainstream show here. Most people who know it know it from DVD.) There are a few shows that buck the trend - I'm just getting into NewsRadio and we rarely have what my dad called The Schmaltzy Moment - but it seemed the rule.

In contrast, British shows, if about any archetype, were about the bumbling fool or the deluded loser, and even in mainstream teatime shows around at the same time like Keeping Up Appearances, One Foot in the Grave, Drop The Dead Donkey, Birds of a Feather and even the very US-style My Family we never had that soppy moment. The plot would be wrapped up and that was that.