Transitioning from the high school job to the professional career while studying a degree?
February 12, 2012 12:34 AM   Subscribe

What's the best way for a university student studying online to transition from general work to a more professional setting while pursuing an accounting degree?

Okay, so I've found myself in a pretty unique situation. Long story short, I'm a 20 year old student working full time in the fast food industry and going to online university as full time as I can make it ( I've managed to study between 4 and 5 courses each semester) in pursuit of a Bachelor's degree in Commerce with an Accounting major. Sadly, I'm still chipping away at the last semester of my first year due to numerous reasons, such as a job change and an increase in work hours when I found myself saddled with a managerial promotion.

I'm getting tired of working in and training for an industry that ultimately isn't going to be beneficial to the degree I'm studying. I want to know how I can begin to get my foot in the door and start gaining experience relevant to my courses. I understand that with an Accounting major, I can't expect to step in to the role of an accountant right away; I was thinking more along the lines of entry level administrative assistant or a receptionist who's responsibilities are similiar to that of an administrative assistant.