Help me think of awesome activities to teach healthy eating habits!
January 11, 2012 5:11 PM   Subscribe

What do preteen girls need to know about healthy foods (and eating, and health and body image more generally) and how do I explore these ideas with a bunch of them?

I'm a Guide leader for 21 girls aged 9-11 (the Canadian equivalent of American Girl Scouts). In a couple of weeks I'm scheduled to spend two, three-hour evenings with them doing activities on the theme of "healthy eating." The topic is one I'm excited to be talking about (I love food and am interested in health), but I'm not yet very experienced doing things with this demographic (it's my first year as a leader). The girls are very hyper, and don't have very long attention spans, so I want to work in some games and divide our time amongst a few activities each night.
I know that I'd like to spend a bit of time addressing body image and dieting, and countering the social pressure on the girls to focus on being thin -- I'd like to help them think instead about things like having lots of energy and being able to do fun things!
I'd also like to work "trying new things" into one of the evenings - physically and culinarily, I think this is an important habit to get into.
Facilities-wise, we have one large indoor room, and access to a kitchen -- but not all 21 of the girls should be in the kitchen at once, as it gets more than a little chaotic!
Help me metafilter, I think this is such an awesome opportunity to do something fun and important -- but how?
posted by Edna Million to Health & Fitness (15 answers total) 10 users marked this as a favorite

Operation Beautiful is a great movement for positive body images- putting up post-it notes with positive messages on them. Making Operation Beautiful notes to put up or talking about things they like about themselves or writing notes to each other would be a great quick activity for body image/acceptance.
posted by kro at 5:24 PM on January 11, 2012