I need more time!
January 6, 2012 11:48 AM   Subscribe

Before the current economic crisis what kind of annual raises could public (US state university system) employees expect? I'm trying to renegotiate my contract from a 12 month to a 10 month.

I'm an academic librarian and have held the same position for almost three years. I'm lucky to have a job that I love, and I'm very good at it. My pay is shit and I haven't gotten a raise since I started, in spite of outstanding evaluations. I'm very frugal and am doing ok financially, have some savings, and have no debt except student loans which I repay on an income-based plan.

Summers on campus are very dead and I would like more time to spend with my kids and grandkids who live far away. I've asked about the possibility of changing my contract to a ten-month one, and my boss is open to the possibility, especially now that I have a colleague who does essentially the same work and does not want to change her 12 mth contract. I'm going to try to argue that instead of 10/12ths of my current piddly salary I want 10/12ths of what my salary would be by now if I'd had regular raises. Does this sound reasonable?

I can live on less, will save by not having to commute 50 miles a day, by paying less on student loans, saving on utilities when I'm away, by possibly being in a lower tax bracket, by eating at home, etc.
posted by mareli to Work & Money (5 answers total)

Best answer: I wouldn't expect regular raises to be more than 3-5% a year for a public university job. I believe I had something like a 2.5% annual increase at my last university position, though that was negotiated down or eliminated in union bargaining more than once. I'm not sure that's going to make a big-enough-to-be-felt difference when you do the math-- it'll probably be a couple thousand total a year, something like $100 monthly before taxes/~$70 after taxes.

For example:
Year 1 $30,000
Year 2 $30,900 (3% raise)
Year 3 $31,827 (3% raise)