How do I manage my time?
June 25, 2005 10:58 AM   Subscribe

How do I allocate time to different parts of my life? I'm a second-year PhD student, but I think this is a universal problem. When I am deciding what to do at a given moment I might have a small number of major long-term projects (right now: two research projects and a course I'm taking), a bunch of minor tasks, and planning for fun stuff. I feel like I really should be devoting most of my time to the major projects, but I sometimes despair at the thought that the little stuff will never get done.

Admittedly some of the minor tasks probably aren't that important in the scheme of things, but I still like doing them, especially those that I can do quickly. Particularly the fun planning does not get done—I want to organize a birthday party in a couple of weeks, but feel like there is so much I should be doing instead. When I'm really stressed out, I can find ways of diverting myself right then (e.g. MetaFilter), but I never seem to find the time to plan for travel or some entertaining activity in the future which might be more rewarding.

Sometimes I find when I try to do something major, I just can't focus on it. I should probably fall back to something minor or easier, but instead I just keep telling myself I'll get back to the major project in a second, just after I read one more MeFi thread or the like.

How can I get the major stuff, the minor stuff, and the fun stuff done, considering that time is finite and that these could all soak up infinite time? I'd appreciate any suggestions and stories about what has worked for you.
posted by grouse to Work & Money (17 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I am not in academia but I face a similar problem as you. I have about 20 things that I am working on now but none of them need to be urgently done (yet) but obviously I will be in trouble if I don't start working on some of them now.