Arrest him DS Jones!
December 1, 2011 6:57 PM   Subscribe

What is the statute of limitations for a juvenile assaulting another juvenile in England. I'm in the US., laid up for a few days and have been watching "Midsommer Murders" on DVD. This would answer a plot point I have. This is a VERY dangerous town to live in, every show 2 to 3 people die. Don't go there! Thanks
posted by Pecantree to Law & Government (3 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I am a US attorney, but I am not your attorney. This is not legal advice, and I assume you are asking purely in regards to the television series.

As I understand it the general rule in the UK, unlike the US, is that there is not a statute of limitations for crimes. There are exceptions, however. For example, a charge of treason must be brought within three years, per the (still in force) Treason Act of 1695. So it wouldn't surprise me if there were no statute of limitations for assault, juvenile or otherwise, in England.
posted by jedicus at 8:41 PM on December 1, 2011 [2 favorites]

Not a lawyer but I work in the English justice system. As Jedicus says there is generally no statute of limitations for criminal offences in England; although with assault offences the prosecution might have a job proving the nature and extent of injuries unless photographic or medical evidence existed from the time. This might in practice limit the ability of the prosecution to bring charges in some cases.
posted by greycap at 9:55 PM on December 1, 2011

At common law there is no time limit for the Crown to prosecute, though statute does vary this somewhat. It depends on the nature of the assault, and whether it's summary or indictable.