Team in Training Alternatives?
September 25, 2011 11:36 PM   Subscribe

I love the idea of Team in Training (especially the community and goal-oriented exercise aspects) but am really not a fundraiser and don't want to become one. What are some alternatives for goal-oriented group fitness? I am in the Bay Area (specifically Marin)

I am new to the Bay Area and looking to meet people, and also to get in better shape (well, any shape at all). I was drawn to TNT because they offer some non-running programs, like a Yosemite shoe-showing hike (oh my god that sounds amazing) and a Tahoe century ride, and also it sounds like they are very friendly for beginners. I seriously hate the idea of fund-raising though -- I mean, I know it's for a good cause, but I'm an introvert and am kinda incapable of asking people money.

So I was thinking there must be clubs/sports stores/other programs in the bay area that hold group trainings for cool events like this that don't require fund-raising, though I know that means I'll probably have to pony up some money myself. I am up for hiking, biking, walking and swimming. I really can't run -- my butt jiggles too much, if you must know :)

Thanks!
posted by imalaowai to Health & Fitness (4 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Every single cycling club everywhere has group rides several times per week. They tend to have A/B/C groups for different skill levels, from beginner through amateur racer. I don't know what's in Marin, but there is a *lot* of cycling up there, both road and mountain, so I can only imagine there is no shortage of cycling clubs.
posted by tylerkaraszewski at 12:29 AM on September 26, 2011