Help! New boss talking to current boss!
August 28, 2011 8:57 PM   Subscribe

How do I get potential employers not to call my current employer (when they've already requested to) for a reference?

Hi! I'm hoping someone can help me answer the question of why I would rather not have a potential employer contact a current employer at the end of an interview. I have two interviews coming up this week for dream jobs of mine, but I know both potential employers will want to talk to my current employer about my performance (I'm in a specialized field in education). Normally this would not be a problem. I am a great worker. My boss is happy and my clients are happy. However, I know my boss will take my leaving personally and make my life at work miserable if I do not get either of these jobs. I know most potential employers understand why there would be a conflict of interest in this situation. However, I work in the field of education in Canada, and public sector employees don't understand how difficult the private system can be -- we're at the mercy of our current bosses for everything. I am trying to move from a private school job to a much-coveted public, government position. My current employer really wants me to stay. She is not a nice woman and has had countless tantrums for various reasons since I've worked there over the past year. Having potential employers calling her makes me nervous. How do I ask my interviewers not to call my current boss unless they are offering me a position so that the rest of my school year is not awkward and awful?

Please hope me. I've searched previous entries, but haven't found answers that will work for me.
posted by heffalump to Human Relations (8 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite