A few good geeks?
June 2, 2005 9:51 AM   Subscribe

A friend of mine is starting a business and needs to find some hard core developers. How should he go about looking for them?

A business school friend needs to find some professionals who can design and build the front and back end of an upload-intensive, web-based application with user-interactivity. He's a business type, and doesn't know where to look for good computer people. Is there is some kind of freelance job board where hard core developers go to look for work? Any pointers welcome.
posted by nyterrant to Computers & Internet (17 answers total)

He could post on Craigslist.

Or, he could have a friend post on a popular community board that a variety of people use to find answers to their questions.

Also, he could always email me (my address is in my profile). I might be interested in working on the project.
posted by bshort at 10:02 AM on June 2, 2005

I'm a developer by trade and have been wondering how to find a solid business type to partner with for fun and profit (that's long term business partner - freelancing simply doesn't appeal to me anymore). A business type in the Chicago area with a business idea (or even better, plan) would be ideal. Makes me wish that I'd associated with more business types in college.

If your friend is interested, my contact information is also available in my profile.
posted by jperkins at 10:15 AM on June 2, 2005

I don't know what you mean by "hardcore developer", but his best bet is his local craigslist site and jobs.perl.org.

Also, it looks like you might get plenty of people from this ask.mefi question alone.