American Lawyering in the UK?
August 19, 2011 2:14 AM   Subscribe

Any ideas on how an American lawyer can find a job in the UK?

Hello! I am a young American lawyer (i.e., not much experience, but with a good law degree, and in 2 different US bars) who is moving to London. (I'm all sorted immigration wise).

I'm not really sure how to go about finding a job, or whether I should take the conversion exams to become a UK lawyer. It doesn't have to be working as a lawyer per se, but something lawyer-ly related (i.e., research, teaching, etc.) would also be terrific.

Any ideas or places I should look, hivemind?
posted by EtTuHealy to Work & Money (9 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

First, you would be converting to English law (Scotland has its own legal system). I dont know how difficult it will be to find a job, but there will be large firms that required lawyers with your qualifications. In the long run more experience is always of value, conversion could be worth while.
posted by adventureloop at 2:17 AM on August 19, 2011

I'd start with anyone who deals with the US - my wife works for a New Zealand company that occasionally exports to places like Hong Kong and Australia, and finding anyone in New Zealand who can offer even an informed opinion on a Hong Kong legal document is surprisingly difficult. I imagine plenty of British firms who deal with the US could use someone who can offer advice on the peculiarities of the US legal landscape.
posted by rodgerd at 2:45 AM on August 19, 2011 [1 favorite]

It sounds to me as if you are already aware of the shape of the profession in the UK and how it differs from America - the barrister/solicitor division, the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme and so on.

For jobs, you could look at any of the following:
Lawcareers.net
The Lawyer

Lawcareers has a firm "search engine" which might help you to dig up lots of LLPs to write to - you could try the CV and covering letter approach and see what turns up.