UK Tier 1 post-study work visa approval?
August 17, 2011 8:55 AM   Subscribe

Can I apply for a UK post-study work visa before I have officially graduated but after I've completed academic work and been approved for the degree?

The UK university where I did my PhD has a long delay between when you are "approved" for your degree (i.e. the university sends you a letter saying that you've completed all the requirements, passed the examination, etc.) and when you have the actual graduation ceremony. I want to apply for a post-study work visa for which I am otherwise eligible, but it isn't clear to me whether "approved for the degree" is going to fly with them. They have a stipulation saying that if you don't yet have your degree certificate you can get a letter from the institution explaining why instead, but I don't know if to-be-awarded will count. Does anyone have any experience with this?

Bonus question: after my student visa expired I went back to the UK on a tourist visa, during which time I was still technically enrolled as a student (since my thesis corrections were ongoing). Is that going to be a problem for this application? I didn't overstay on either visa or anything like that.

(NB: I'm aware that I can call the consulate and ask, but their visa help line charges $3.00 a minute, and then they put you on hold, and then they try to tell you that everything you need to know is on the website, which it isn't. So I don't want to do that if I can find out what I need to know some other way.)
posted by SymphonyNumberNine to Grab Bag (6 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

Best answer: Applying for the work visa should be fine as long as you have the official paperwork in lieu of the award certificate (mine didn't arrive until about a year after the viva; that wasn't really a problem. I didn't eve submit my corrections until about 3 months into the new job).