Big Dog in a Little House
July 9, 2011 11:17 AM   Subscribe

Big Dog in a Little House: Should I let my renters adopt a Great Dane?

I just rented my house to a very nice couple who moved in on July 1st. Before they arrived, they let me know they were interested in rescuing a Great Dane. The email they sent was very well-crafted, with helpful references about the temperament of the dog. So I'm not worried that they would be irresponsible pet owners. I'll also charge them a (refundable) pet deposit.

But...my house is tiny. It's only 950 square feet but it "lives" smaller than that. I think a Great Dane wagging its tail in the hallway would easily whack each wall of the hallway with every wag.

This is my first time having tenants, so I'm a little more cautious than I might be otherwise.

So, for those of you who have Great Danes or know people who do, is it really the kind of dog that can live in a small house without wreaking too much havoc?
posted by missjenny to Pets & Animals (22 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Fenced in yard?
posted by Max Power at 11:19 AM on July 9, 2011

Response by poster: I have a decent-size yard, but it's not fenced in.
posted by missjenny at 11:21 AM on July 9, 2011

Sometimes smaller dogs can do more damage. From what I understand, Great Danes are very mellow and peaceful and do well as apartment dogs. You might want to double check, but I think it should be fine. Especially if it is an adult/older dog.
posted by Vaike at 11:22 AM on July 9, 2011 [1 favorite]

I know several people who own rescued Great Danes who live in small apartments without yards. People think of Great Danes as very active dogs: they are raced, and when outdoors the do run fast. But it is a widely known that at home they are couch potatoes. I wouldn't hesitate.
posted by trip and a half at 11:25 AM on July 9, 2011