Help for a newly single parent
May 19, 2005 10:17 PM   Subscribe

I've lost my primary income provider recently (MI).

I will have to find a way to earn a living. Because of children and a long-term disability I am mostly limited to working from home. I am a good web designer, a good technical support person, and I'm a good writer. Please give me some ideas to help me get enough money not to loose my house. Which isn't much but, it's my sole possession. My needs are low and about $2k will carry me though, not in fine fashion, but I will survive. Part-time work isn't out of the question, but also cannot drive, due to the nature of my disability. I recieve a small amount of money for that, but it's not enough to keep me afloat.
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (10 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

$2k per month? after taxes?
posted by trevyn at 10:20 PM on May 19, 2005

Medical transcription is a common work-at-home job, but to do well at it you need to type well and pick up medical terminology quickly. And have a ear for it. It can be hard to get into (most take a class), but the real learning starts on the job.

You could do customer service--for example, JetBlue's customer service reps are all home-based IIRC. I wonder if there are any home-based phone help desk gigs?

(Yes, not all of my suggestions take advantage of your strengths!)

Web design, technical support, and writing...have you considered a for-profit blog? It has to be good, not just keyword fodder, but if you have a good niche you can write wel about, you can earn some money from ad placement. Freelance writing in general may help.

The writing (and web design too I guess) are good skills to have if you're trying to work out of your home--it beats being only good at, say, sales. The tech support will come in handy if you're working for yourself. :)
posted by RikiTikiTavi at 10:43 PM on May 19, 2005