anyway, i'm going to stay positive!
June 23, 2011 11:51 AM   Subscribe

How can I quickly reorganize my life/habits to adapt to new demands?

My dad has been very sick for the past 6 months and hasn't been able to go to work during that time. It was always him that made the rent for the apartment that we all lived in, but since he stopped working, we have been using (I'm guessing) the tax return we got earlier this year + whatever little savings we have to pay the rent.

I work as a Graduate Assistant at my university from Sept. to May, and use a decent-sized part of my, admittedly puny, earnings to pay for car insurance (we have two cars -- v. necessary, because there are 7 of us) and our cellphone bill each month. In the summer, GA's aren't given work, so we have to find something else to do. I found some tutoring work and a couple of design jobs (referred to me by a friend) and planned to use the money I got from that to cover the two bills I'm responsible for, for the rest of the summer.

But then 2 weeks ago, my dad told me that we only had enough $ for one more month of rent. And that we had to figure out what to do next. (Also, I think that he didn't say anything earlier, because he felt embarrassed. In our culture the dad/husband is supposed to take care of everything. But since he got sick, he couldn't do that anymore. He's been quite depressed about it.)

So, now I have to figure out how to raise enough $ for 2 bills AND rent. Cutting down is not really an option... we don't have any "frivolous" expenses -- we don't eat out, go to the movies, travel, shop a lot, have cable, or anything. We don't have credit cards or credit card bills to pay. Our bills are very basic - rent, insurance, electricity, cell phone, gas, some groceries (we get help with food).