Things To Do In Belgium When You're Ten
May 31, 2011 12:15 PM   Subscribe

My daughter and I will be in Brussels for seven hours on Friday. What shouldn't we miss?

She's ten, culturally curious, but a fussy eater. She likes fountains and modern art. I'm kind of the same. Any recommendations gratefully accepted.
posted by tigrefacile to Travel & Transportation around Belgium (11 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

The Herge Museum? I am dying to go.
posted by Admiral Haddock at 12:19 PM on May 31, 2011

This musical instruments museum, set in a beautiful old Art Noveau hotel. I'm not a musician, but I had a great time, and you can wander around with a pair of headphones on, put your foot on a special spot, and trigger a sample of the instrument you're looking at. Tons of instruments from around the world, all gorgeously crafted and decorated, and a few you can play! It would be tremendous fun for a ten year-old and wasn't all that expensive to get in to as I remember (she'll get a discount.)
posted by WidgetAlley at 12:30 PM on May 31, 2011

My wife and I spent a lot of time last summer wandering the city looking for the comics murals. It's a fun way to see Brussels and you can do most of them without going too far from downtown.
posted by gerryblog at 1:13 PM on May 31, 2011

Maison Horta!
posted by zia at 1:27 PM on May 31, 2011

In terms of food, you will find an abundance of frites (it feels wrong to call them French Fries in Belgium), more chocolate than you can shake a stick at and the glorious Liege Waffle. In particular you must try the Liege waffle as it will be both familiar to you as well as very distinctive. The sugar crystals inside are a very nice surprise.

Since Brussels has a lot of ex-patriots, you can pretty much find any food you desire. With that said, my rule of thumb for picky eaters is to be on the look out for Pizza Quattro Formaggi (4 Cheese) and Croque Monsieurs (basically a hot grilled ham and cheese sandwich).