Impersonal Gift Ideas Needed
April 26, 2011 12:10 PM   Subscribe

I need a completely generic, impersonal thank you gift for a boss with whom I spend a ton of time but about whom I know next to nothing.

I'm an intern in a social work position at an elementary school. My boss supervises all of my cases, so we spend a lot of time together and she expends a lot of effort on my account. My last day on the job is Friday, and I haven't been able to think of an appropriate gift to give her. Since our weekly supervision hour is supposed to model a therapist/client relationship, she refuses to engage in any self-disclosure and I know NOTHING about her.

I'm very appreciative of all of the effort she's put into my development as a clinical social worker and I'd like for her to know it. I'd rather not put my appreciation into words as that will give her a chance to analyze anything I say and then tell me why I'm feeling the way I am (which, as you can imagine, is a frustrating part of our relationship and the only part I'm anxious to leave behind). I think a nice gift that costs ~$40 would suffice, but it would need to be very generic and applicable to anyone. I have no idea if she drinks or if she's on a special diet like everyone else in NYC, so booze and food are off the proverbial table, but I'm wondering if any of you out there have received or given a gift like this and could give me some suggestions?
posted by pineappleheart to Shopping (22 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Give her a book that means something to you. Inscribe it with a thank you and an small explanation on what it means to you. That way it's personal, but in the only way it can be knowing nothing about the recipient.
posted by inturnaround at 12:12 PM on April 26, 2011 [2 favorites]

As someone who may have to take a lot of notes, maybe you could give her a distinctive and nice-looking pen.
posted by ldthomps at 12:12 PM on April 26, 2011 [1 favorite]