Where'd they come from, where'd they go, and why pw protected?
April 4, 2011 4:10 PM   Subscribe

After yesterday's pc scan, BitDefender reported that five files could not be read, because they were password protected. Now the files are gone. WTF?

Here's one example reported in the scan log:

C:\Users\[my name]\AppData\Roaming\Apple Computer\MobileSync\Backup\625ee7cde6344cdc1ed83c3565b388aa11b1a028\a54ea2446fb7694bbbde265db0a49d403052b69f=>home_births_02-04-2011_3A1UJC2_73.xhtml Password-protected Not scanned (file was password-protected)

Not incidentally, I have no interest in home birthing and have not sought out any such content (and, yes, I am the only person with access to this computer).

Any ideas as to:
- Where this file came from?
- How/why it became password-protected?
- Where the file went?

My OS is Windows 7.

Many thanks for any thoughts.
posted by Short Attention Sp to Computers & Internet (3 answers total)
 
Best answer: I'm gonna make a stab at it. Nothing but a totally uneducated stab, but it sounds like it might be an ad from an iPhone app that got backed up at some point.

As far as the password protection, maybe iTunes was fooling with the backups at the same time.

Which leads me to my third answer, if for some reason the backup got deleted, the file goes bye bye.
posted by deezil at 4:42 PM on April 4, 2011 [1 favorite]


Response by poster: Okay, I'm impressed. I have two new (free) apps that serve ads. I'm not sure about iTunes fooling with backups at the same time, but my phone was plugged in at the time of the scan.

Thank you!
posted by Short Attention Sp at 5:07 PM on April 4, 2011


I'm not sure about iTunes fooling with backups at the same time, but my phone was plugged in at the time of the scan.

This will happen during the sync process as iTunes manages the apps (and versions of those apps if you're also downloading updates via iTunes). The backup folder is likely a pseudonym for "temp" where it holds a copy of the app during sync.

I've also noticed that in Windows, when iTunes deletes an older version of an app, it's moved to the recycle bin.
posted by samsara at 6:17 AM on April 5, 2011


« Older Help me chose?   |   What Can A Hospital Do With Drug Screen Info? Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.