Mailman, have you really got my back?
March 28, 2011 2:29 PM   Subscribe

How can I tell if my e-mail list is underperforming, delivery-wise?

So, a few months ago, I dragged my local spinning and weaving guild into the digital age by setting up a website and an e-mail announcement list using Mailman.

The e-mail list is low-volume, with just 70 users, but each month after the newsletter gets e-mailed via the list, I spend a fair amount of time corresponding with a handful of people (different people each time) who didn't get the newsletter and are concerned that the new system is not as reliable as the old system of cutting and pasting e-mail addresses into the To: field of your e-mail to the guild members.

I am new to administering mailing lists, but feel like a 2-3 percent non-delivery rate is not too bad, given that servers are temperamental on the receiving end as well as the sending. Are my standards too low? Can I improve delivery? Can I set up Mailman to give me some sort of bounce report each time an e-mail goes out, rather than just when the excessive bounce filter is applied? What else should I be looking for to know whether this is a problem, or a "problem?"
posted by deliriouscool to Computers & Internet (9 answers total)

You're correct that a 2-3 percent bounce rate is really not bad, and well within what should be expected. I'm not familiar with Mailman, but the program I use (mailchimp) gives a report that distinguishes between hard and soft bounces. Soft bounces might still get delivered, so your delivery rate may go up after time.
There's not too much you can do to improve delivery, other than ensuring that you don't have any spammy-sounding subject lines. Relying too much on HTML or having large sized e-mails will also lead to trouble. Other than that, it's mostly out of your hands.
posted by Gilbert at 2:47 PM on March 28, 2011