International children's organizations?
March 23, 2011 5:22 PM   Subscribe

Which organized international child welfare/protection/rights agencies could use a volunteer lawyer?

I'm a lawyer who wants to volunteer overseas (outside N. America) in areas of law related to children. There is so much out there and so many different organizations of varying quality. Has anyone had experience doing this and can steer me towards some legit organizations? Places of interest would be Africa, SE Asia, India, but really, anywhere if the organization is one that is well run or really in need of assistance.
posted by grak88 to Law & Government (6 answers total)

Best answer: International Justice Mission has field internships for lawyers, and is also looking for those offering pro bono work overseas. They are a religious organization, but I've seen them at conferences a few times, and wasn't creeped out.
posted by hasna at 8:25 PM on March 23, 2011 [1 favorite]

Best answer: Defence for Children International provides legal services to both the Israeli and Palestinian communities but if you want to actually represent clients, you'll need Hebrew and/or Arabic.

How about death row cases in the common law, English speaking commonwealth countries? Reprieve, headed up by Clive Stafford Smith might be able to use you.
posted by dmt at 8:54 PM on March 23, 2011

Response by poster: Death row sounds interesting too. Have you done work with reprieve?
posted by grak88 at 9:49 PM on March 23, 2011

Asylum Access is an excellent organization that helps refugees with legal assistance. Refugees, some of whom are children, are an incredibly vulnerable population. Plus they are looking for legal advocates for at least six months in Tanzania, Ecuador, and Thailand. (Tanzania! Ecuador! Thailand!)