Not really a go-getter but need to go get a job
March 1, 2011 1:51 PM   Subscribe

Please help me overcome my fear of job hunting and the self-limiting belief system that causes it.

For almost two years, I worked in a government organization on temporary assignment. I got laid off in August, along with the entire department, and moved a few months later to a new city with a better job market. I worked for four different supervisors on this job, and they all deemed me an excellent employee. I wore several hats and apparently wore them well.

Prior to this, I worked on a grant-funded project for a nonprofit for about six months. Again, I was lauded for my performance.

These jobs payed a little under $20 per hour, and I was pretty comfortable living on this amount.

Before all this, I was a self-employed writer for several years, working on a variety of projects on a contract basis. Unfortunately, I don't think I have enough experience in writing where the real money is to get a good writing job.

I have about a year of skilled trade curriculum writing experience from four years ago, which qualifies as technical writing, but has nothing to do with IT, which is where all the demand in tech writing seems to be.

I have no grant writing experience, though I'm sure that, given a template and access to enough relevant information, I could write a readable and persuasive grant proposal.

I have a minor amount of PR experience, but as an introvert, I find the schmoozing aspect of a PR job to be wearying, and if I were to write PR for something I didn't care about, I doubt I'd be able to force myself to do a stellar job.

I do have extensive experience in journalism -- both writing and editing. However, the pay is low, and content mills have pretty much ruined that job market. I've written for one of those mills, and it made me feel like slitting my wrists.