Knee...
April 24, 2005 3:04 PM   Subscribe

I'm a 24 y/o college student with a relatively inactive lifestyle - I don't work out, but I'm not a couch potato. My right knee had been popping while walking to class this semester, especially uphill. On Friday, I went out dancing... ever since, it feels swollen and hurts to sit "Indian-style" or straighten it completely. Should I be worried?

I hate doctors and will only go if it's serious.
posted by trinarian to Health & Fitness (13 answers total)

If the pain and swelling don't go down much in 2-3 days, go see a doctor.
posted by kavasa at 3:17 PM on April 24, 2005

You might have a Baker's cyst, in which case you'd need a minor operation for it to be put right.
posted by ikkyu2 at 3:18 PM on April 24, 2005

you know, I was a baker's clerk for three years...

I Googled it... this says Baker's cysts have pain located at the back of the knee... the pain here seems more concentrated at the sides and lower end of the kneecap.
posted by trinarian at 3:28 PM on April 24, 2005

I had the exact same problem about 10 months ago. The popping, the swelling, the fear that my knee would give out at any moment. It could be a number of things, so see a doctor soon. I was lucky and my problem went away with regular use of a compression bandage and a prescription anti-inflammatory after about 2 weeks.
posted by pmbuko at 4:15 PM on April 24, 2005

I've had two dancing injuries: to the hip and to the foot. The hip went away on its own over months, but the foot problem stayed with me for years, prevented me from dancing much more, and was a big downer all-around. Go to a doctor, and if they can't help, and if it still bothers you in a few months, go to another doctor. (I went to one podiatrist who did nothing, and a couple of years later went to another who has helped immensely.)
posted by lorrer at 5:46 PM on April 24, 2005