Tell me about chiwalking
February 18, 2011 4:57 PM   Subscribe

Do you have any experience with ChiWalking? Has it helped you prevent / recover from injuries? Helped you get fit? Made your life awesome?

I'm obese (about 75 pounds over a healthy weight) and have started walking. I know walking isn't for weight loss per se, but there are lots of other benefits to regular exercise and I want those, too.

However, the last time I was on a walking program, about eight weeks in I injured my knee and it completely derailed my weight loss efforts. A marathoner friend has recommended ChiWalking as a way to prevent injuries. In your experience, is buying the DVD and book a worthwhile purchase to help me make this a lifelong habit and prevent knee injuries? Is ChiWalking great, but I should invest in a personal coach and/or lessons?
posted by angiep to Health & Fitness (3 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

I have no experience with ChiWalking but I think I enjoy a similar "awareness" through barefoot style running. I was 40 pounds overweight when I started running but suffered a couple of injuries to my left ankle and knee that stalled my progress. I switched to Vibram Bikilas and have found they help me analyze my form more accurately than I could in heavy soled, higher heeled runners. I've discovered that I wasn't rotating my hips evenly and since correcting that, my knee has been getting better and better. So I say, "go for it" but start very slow and build all the little muscles and tendons that you haven't been using fully. Barefooting forces you to be careful because you'll f*ck yourself up pretty quickly if you over do it.
posted by bonobothegreat at 5:26 PM on February 18, 2011 [1 favorite]