Am I being extorted?
February 16, 2011 7:14 AM   Subscribe

I've a question about apartment rental in Germany : Am I being extorted?

I'm a visiting researcher a university in Germany (NRW), the department here booked a guest house for my stay. I never submitted the housing request form, as I wasn't sure I'd need the apartment for the first month, but the department apparently did so on my behalf.

In the end, my previous visiting researcher position extended my contract by one month. We all agreed that I should start this position one month later. I made an attempt to inform the guest house about the change, which they apparently never understood. I never worried my about their unresponsiveness because I finally submitted the housing request form with the proper dates. I did not however contact the department secretary who handled my booking with the guest house.

On my original start date, that department secretary said my key was available. I explained the error to both her and the guest house, observing that the housing request form had the correct dates.

At this point, the guest house stopped responding to my emails, instead going to the professor on who's grant I'm being supported. Initially, I'd imagined this was just a language issue, but I wasn't terribly worried since all paperwork from me gave the correct dates.

After I started, the guest house eventually sent me a housing contract giving the original incorrect dates. I corrected the dates, signed the form, and returned it to them, assuming they just hadn't done anything. Again, they responded not by contacting me, but by contacting my boss, this time threatening the departments relationship with the guest house.

I finally just decided to simply pay them, but I've not yet signed any contract with their dates. I could presumably withhold rent towards the end, assuming they've even figured out that my corrected dates give a departure date one month later, but surely they'd again harass my boos.